Special Rules for the MECCG New Player/Handicap Tournament
This tournament runs in a usual format: Two Deck, General Opponent, Four Rounds, Swiss. The unusual part is this: Players who are new to MECCG may build any deck they wish. MECCG veterans, however, must build a deck with a built-in handicap or goal which limits its playability and puts the veteran player on a level that might be equal to the newer, less experienced players. For instance, you might build a deck that uses only cards which start with the letter E. Or you might build a hobbit deck with no attack cancellers. Or you might build a deck where your goal is to make Ioreth a powerful warrior and have her go slay At Home dragon manifestations. Veteran players who enter this tournament are required to submit a statement of their handicap, along with a deck list. Prizes will be awarded to the top players as well as the player with the most imaginative handicap.

Special Rules for the MECCG Avatar Tournament
This tournament runs in a usual format: Two Deck, General Opponent, Four Round, Swiss. However, there are only 16 slots available, each slot corresponding to one of the existing MECCG Avatars: the five Wizards, the nine Ringwraiths, Sauron, and the Balrog. Players who intend to play in this tournament must let the Worlds coordinators know ahead of time which Avatar they intend to play. Only one player can play each Avatar. Wizard players may choose either Hero or Fallen Wizard version of their Avatars. The Sauron player will be allowed to play against Ringwraith players (and Ringwraith players will be allowed to use Above The Abyss and similar cards when playing against Sauron). Signing up for a particular Avatar is done on a first come-first serve basis.

Play proceeds as normal. However, the tournament points awarded to a player when he or she wins depends on the Avatar he or she is playing. The more popular/powerful Avatars will earn less points; the more difficult to play Avatars more points, like so:

  • Pallando, Radagast, Sauron, and The Balrog: 5 points per win (instead of the usual 6)
  • Alatar, Gandalf, Saruman, Adunaphel, Akhorahil, Hoarmurath, Khamul, and The Witch-King: 6 points per win
  • Dwar, Indur, Ren, and Uvatha: 7 points per win
Also, before the tournament begins, everyone at the Worlds Festival (even those playing in the World Championship Semi-Finals) will have the opportunity to place a wager on each Avatar. Each time an Avatar wins, those who’ve placed wagers will receive points according to the chart below. At the end of the tournament, the attendees with the highest point totals will also receive prizes!

Wager Point Value per Avatar Win
Radagast, Sauron, The Balrog: 2 points per win
Pallando, Hoarmurath: 3 points per win
Gandalf, Alatar, Adunaphel, Akhorahil, Khamul, The Witch-King: 4 points per win
Saruman, Dwar, Indur, Ren, Uvatha: 5 points per win

Home | Accommodations | Transportation | Schedule | Event Location | Preregister | Contact Us | Attendees