Page 1 of 1

Agents become characters

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:53 am
by rezwits
Let say I have a Saruman (Hero) deck, and I have Wormtongue in play as an agent.

If my Saruman "slightly" fails a corruption check, and goes fallen, if he (Wormtongue) is at Isengard a homesite (or maybe wherever) he should be able to shift status from Agent to Character.

If not then I should be able to "play" him as a character using Thrall of the Voice, from the board?

Please help me, because I see agents being able to be used more and help future fallen wizards :)

To me it's just silly when you see your Agent on the board when your Wizard has fallen, and it's sometimes more advantageous to leave him as an agent because you don't have to use you G.I. like 5 in this case, when you only have 15, and he (worm) gets to go from site to site working.  When you could "pay" the 5 mind penalty and fully influence him and start giving items or what not to him, say give him a palantir and teach him how to use it, etc.

Just seems like a simple rule change.  The reason I ask is it seems like there are not to many rules areas about, when a wizard goes fallen etc.

Like one other question, which I think has not been asked or answered is:

If you include in your SB your optional Fallen-Wizard avatar(s) up to 2, does your deck and sideboard have to abide by the (White Hand rules) 2 of non-uniques, etc, at that point?  Because you are not saying you are Fallen Wizard, but you are leaving the door open.

To me I would say if you put your Fallen-Wizards Avatars in SB and start crossing over with Fallen-Wizard (and minion) resources, you have not declared FW status, but your deck and sb need to follow FW rules.

Thanks

Summation

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:06 am
by rezwits
Basically being able to use a Character as an agent is a "Bonus"

I see no reason that if someone wants to pay the General Influence, which is mostly a penalty, that they shouldn't be able to.

Laters...

I guess I could have put at Bree

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:08 pm
by rezwits
I guess I could have put at Bree?

could be cool too...

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:46 am
by Vastor Peredhil
Hi Thomas,

1st off why do you not use the most active forum at:

http://www.councilofelrond.org/forum/index.php

there is the dream card section you find several conversion rules!
Let say I have a Saruman (Hero) deck, and I have Wormtongue in play as an agent.

If my Saruman "slightly" fails a corruption check, and goes fallen, if he (Wormtongue) is at Isengard a home site (or maybe wherever) he should be able to shift status from Agent to Character.
You can already do that, you convert to a FW then discard the agent at his home site and play him later as a character (using Smoke Rings for example)
If not then I should be able to "play" him as a character using Thrall of the Voice, from the board?

Please help me, because I see agents being able to be used more and help future fallen wizards Smile

To me it's just silly when you see your Agent on the board when your Wizard has fallen, and it's sometimes more advantageous to leave him as an agent because you don't have to use you G.I. like 5 in this case, when you only have 15, and he (worm) gets to go from site to site working.  When you could "pay" the 5 mind penalty and fully influence him and start giving items or what not to him, say give him a Palantír and teach him how to use it, etc.
1) yes they are a good help influence wise, and yes you ought to have stage cards in your SB to help you play them! or other stage cards to play on your high mind characters, (like Forge Master on your Glorfindel anyone=)

2) agents do never require GI to control if played as agents, never no matter which alignment.

just seems like a simple rule change.  The reason I ask is it seems like there are not to many rules areas about, when a wizard goes fallen etc.

Like one other question, which I think has not been asked or answered is:

If you include in your SB your optional Fallen-Wizard avatar(s) up to 2, does your deck and sideboard have to abide by the (White Hand rules) 2 of non-uniques, etc, at that point?  Because you are not saying you are Fallen Wizard, but you are leaving the door open.

To me I would say if you put your Fallen-Wizards Avatars in SB and start crossing over with Fallen-Wizard (and minion) resources, you have not declared FW status, but your deck and sb need to follow FW rules.
All of these issues have been solved by making the SB open in DC format, it may include anything your like (as long as you keep to the max number for your deck & format size)

get to the other forum and PM if you need access to the dream card section hidden section for more info and also check out GCCG where all these rules can be test smoothly

yours Vastor Peredhil aka Nicolai  Council Member of Elrond