Page 1 of 1

[minion resource; vs. hero] The Mouth Has Come to Kill

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:37 am
by Zarathustra
It may seem the The Mouth is at a disadvantage compared to other characters because he can be forced back to his player's hand when Mouth of Sauron (the hazard) is played.  Well, this can also be an advantage!  Here's a deck that proves just that.

Start:

The Mouth / Blazon of the Eye
Ufthak
Grishnakh / Foul-Smelling Paste

Nain
Odoacer

In Deck:

3 Hoarmurath the Ringwraith
1 Lieutenant of Dol Guldur

Resources:

3 We Have Come to Kill
3 Sneakin
3 A Nice Place to Hide
2 Hoarmurath Unleashed
3 Crept Along Cleverly
1 Bade to Rule
1 While the Yellow Face Sleeps
3 Dark Tryst
3 Voices of Malice


1 Ice-Orcs
1 Scatha Roused
1 Smaug Roused

1 Regiment of Black Crows

1 The Mithril-Coat
1 The Arkenstone
1 High Helm
1 Thrar's Map

Key Sideboard Cards:

1 Hoarmurath Unleashed
1 Sudden Call
1 Scroll of Isildur (vs. One Ring)
1 Long Grievous Siege
2 Tribute Garnered

Play Tips:

If the Mouth gets wounded, play the hazard yourself, then replay him with WHCtK.  If you're worried you might get beat up on the way to a site, let him get taken back to your hand, then after entering play WHCtK.  The possibilities are endless!  The deck plays best against heroes because so many of the characters are so very popular for minions and so very important for the deck.  Still, it can be made to work against minions as well.

MP Breakdown:

Character: 9
Item: 8
Ally: 1
Faction: 14
Misc: 0-3
Total: 32-36

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:18 am
by Zarathustra
Be sure to put 3x Bane in your hazard portion!

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:44 am
by Wacho
Does Bane of the Ithil Stone actually prevent the play of Mouth of Sauron by a hero player (as a short event, of course)?

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:50 am
by Sauron_the_Great
Yes, Bane does that...but so you get to bounce The Mouth back to your hand when YOU want him...usually when you have a WHCTK in hand...

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:28 am
by Manuel
I think you can still play the Mouth when Bane is on table, only that the effect would get cancelled.

Putting Bane x3 is useful anyway because they would only get to play the mouth once in a deck cycle (you don't want Outpost-> mouth, Uvatha-> Mouth, etc)

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:57 am
by Sauron_the_Great
Which would mean that you play a card willingly for no effect....which is not allowed...

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:30 am
by miguel
Sauron_the_Great wrote:Which would mean that you play a card willingly for no effect....which is not allowed...
I don't think it's playing for no effect. You play Mouth for an effect, Bane just happens to cancel that effect. The resource player might even respond with Voices of Malice on Bane to actually make you get a hazard to your hand (unlikely, but possible)...  :wink: