Hour of Need

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Hour of Need

Post by Morgoth the Black » Tue May 11, 2010 11:21 pm

Playable on an untapped non-warrior, non-Wizard diplomat during the organization phase if you have a faction in your hand. Play a faction from your hand. Tap diplomat who then makes an influence attempt on this faction. Count out the number of contiguous regions from the diplomat's site to the site where the faction is normally playable (including the regions containing both sites)-subtract two plus this number from the diplomat's attempt. If the attempt is unsuccessful, discard the diplomat and faction.  
Is it safe to assume that since the resource is played during the organization phase, it does not tap the site?  Also, lets say an influence attempt with Hour of Need is successful.   Does playing a faction in such a way during the organization phase tap the site?  If not, can a faction be played with Hour of Need at an already tapped site?

Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by Bandobras Took » Wed May 12, 2010 1:23 pm

No, it is not safe to assume that.  If a card does not directly override a rule, that rule remains in force.

Unless the card happens to be A Chance Meeting, We Have Come to Kill, Strider, Adunaphel, . . . ;)
CRF, Hour of Need wrote:Hour of Need

   * May not be played in the Under-deeps.
   * @ If successful Hour of Need taps the site it is played at (not the site associated with the faction) [Van] %
   * @ Cannot be played at a tapped site [Van] %
   * @ Will not allow the play of a 'free' minor item when played in the organization phase [Van] %

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Wed May 12, 2010 4:53 pm

Thanks for the clarification.  Will take that into consideration for the new deck I am making!

Marcos
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:51 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by Marcos » Thu May 13, 2010 2:05 pm

Bandobras Took wrote:No, it is not safe to assume that.  If a card does not directly override a rule, that rule remains in force.

Unless the card happens to be A Chance Meeting, We Have Come to Kill, Strider, Adunaphel, . . . ;)
CRF, Hour of Need wrote:Hour of Need

   * May not be played in the Under-deeps.
   * @ If successful Hour of Need taps the site it is played at (not the site associated with the faction) [Van] %
   * @ Cannot be played at a tapped site [Van] %
   * @ Will not allow the play of a 'free' minor item when played in the organization phase [Van] %
Adunaphel?

Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by Bandobras Took » Fri May 14, 2010 5:09 am

In her case, directly overriding the rule is not sufficient to override the rule. :)

Post Reply