Lure of Power / Army of the Dead

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Lure of Power / Army of the Dead

Post by Fangorn » Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:46 pm

Lure of Power
The next non-Hobbit character to make a successful influence attempt (e.g. against a faction, an opponent's character, etc.) must immediately make a corruption check modified by -4. Discard this card after this corruption check.
Army of the Dead
Unique. Playable at Vale of Erech. May only be played by Aragorn II on the same turn that he plays Paths of the Dead. May not be influenced by an opponent.
I think Aragorn does not make an influence attempt when playing Army of the Dead.
So if Lure of Power is in play, Aragorn does not make a corruption check.

Is it right ?
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by Bandobras Took » Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:02 pm

So far as I can tell, no Influence Attempt/Check is ever made on the Army of the Dead, so Lure of Power would not trigger.

Wacho
Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by Wacho » Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:28 am

I believe that is incorrect Ben.  Aragorn does make an influence attempt, but it is automatically successful.  No check is required.  There was a big discussion sometime earlier about influence attempts vs. influence checks earlier at the COE site.  IIRC checks and attempts were found to be different things.  Similarly if you had the Red Arrow and brought the Riders of Rohan into play you wouldn't have to make a roll but it would still count as an influence attempt.  Anytime you play a faction you are making an influence attempt.

Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by Bandobras Took » Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:12 pm

Army of the Dead wrote:Unique. Playable at Vale of Erech. May only be played by Aragorn II on the same turn that he plays Paths of the Dead. May not be influenced by an opponent.
Red Arrow wrote:Unique. Bearer may automatically influence the Riders of Rohan. +5 to the bearer's direct influence against any character with Edoras as a home site.
MELE Rules wrote:BRINGING A FACTION INTO PLAY
In order to play a faction card, you must tap one of your characters that is at the "site" indicated on the faction's card. Then you must make an influence check. Make a roll (2D6), add your character's unused direct influence, and add any appropriate modifications (any applicable standard modifications from the faction card and from any other cards played). All influence check modifier cards must be played before making the roll (2D6).
If the modified result is greater than the value required on the faction card, you place the faction in your marshalling point pile (it now counts towards your marshalling point total). Otherwise, you discard the faction card. Once a faction is brought into play, it is not controlled by any specific character and it does not count against general or direct influence.
In the case of the Red Arrow, it says the influence attempt is automatically successful.

Aragorn doesn't make an influence attempt for two reasons:
1) He never rolls; and
2) There is no number to roll against.

Red Arrow alters this by making the influence attempt automatically successful, but by virtue of that, it is still an influence attempt.

Army of the Dead alters the rules for playing a faction by not requiring an influence attempt at all.

Edit: Looking at the discussion on the CoE forum; I think this stands.  Twisted Tales is also an example of an influence attempt that automatically succeeds; playing Army of the Dead just isn't an influence attempt at all.

User avatar
Eyelid
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:06 pm
Location: Pays de Loire (France)

Post by Eyelid » Wed Nov 19, 2008 12:21 am

Along the same lines, you can play a Muster Disperses on Army of the Dead because Muster Disperses is not an influence check, and Sentinels of Numenor will not give an extra marshalling point to Army of
the Dead because the Army was never influenced.
"Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Ford Prefect
"If you believe in Eternity, then life is irrelevant". House M.D.

Post Reply