Tournament rule : deck vs. hero / deck vs. minion

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Tournament rule : deck vs. hero / deck vs. minion

Post by Fangorn » Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:39 pm

Depending on alignment of opponent, one deck must be used against hero and the other one must be used against minion.

But which parts of the decks must be identical and which parts of the deck may be different ?

Decks have :
a) identical ressources / identical hazards / different sideboards
b) identical ressources / different hazards / different sideboards
c) identical ressources / different hazards / identical sideboards
d) different ressources / different hazards / identical sideboards
e) different ressources / different hazards / different sideboards

What's the correct answer ?
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Re: Tournament rule : deck vs. hero / deck vs. minion

Post by Sauron » Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:26 pm

Fangorn wrote:Depending on alignment of opponent, one deck must be used against hero and the other one must be used against minion.

But which parts of the decks must be identical and which parts of the deck may be different ?

Decks have :
a) identical ressources / identical hazards / different sideboards
b) identical ressources / different hazards / different sideboards
c) identical ressources / different hazards / identical sideboards
d) different ressources / different hazards / identical sideboards
e) different ressources / different hazards / different sideboards

What's the correct answer ?
the answer is E.

You can have 2 decks both of the same alignment one versus Hero, 1 versus Minion and you must chose which one of those will always face FW.

Each deck can be whatever yuo want, nothing must be the same in them other than alignment.

User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Post by Fangorn » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:21 pm

You can have 2 decks both of the same alignment one versus Hero, 1 versus Minion and you must chose which one of those will always face FW.
Could you please confirm this ?
I thought deck versus hero must always be used against fallen wizard.
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

Wacho
Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by Wacho » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:40 pm

Nope you can choose which.

User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Post by Fangorn » Sat Jul 12, 2008 9:36 pm

Let's imagine most cards are identical in the two decks.

Is it mandatory to build 'physically' two complete decks ?
Or is it possible to have only one deck and change cards that differ depending on opponent's alignment ?
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

Leon
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:54 pm

Post by Leon » Sun Jul 13, 2008 5:21 pm

I usually have one deck and switch only a few cards

asphalt
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

Post by asphalt » Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:07 pm

Fangorn wrote:Is it mandatory to build 'physically' two complete decks?
This would make playing Sauron decks at tourneys financially unaffordable  :)

BeeBoy
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Seymour, IN

Post by BeeBoy » Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:11 pm

asphalt wrote:
Fangorn wrote:Is it mandatory to build 'physically' two complete decks?
This would make playing Sauron decks at tourneys financially unaffordable  :)
Only if someone were foolish enough to put Sauron or The Lidless Eye in their vs.Minion deck   :)

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:10 pm

No you don't have to physically have 2 decks.  You just have to cards for 2 decks, which can mean swapping.  But it should be able to be done quickly as between each round isn't alot of time.

As for the either deck to play against FW

From CoL Tournament Policy:

You may play either any alignment you choose: hero, minion, or Fallen-wizard. You do not know the alignment of your opponent until he tells you at the start of the game. You may bring two decks of the same alignment to the tournament. One must be dedicated for play against minion opponents, and the other against hero opponents. Either deck may be used against a Fallen-wizard. You may have cards which are used in both decks, but each deck must contain the same cards for each game it is used in.

asphalt
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

Post by asphalt » Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:00 pm

BeeBoy wrote:
asphalt wrote:
Fangorn wrote:Is it mandatory to build 'physically' two complete decks?
This would make playing Sauron decks at tourneys financially unaffordable  :)
Only if someone were foolish enough to put Sauron or The Lidless Eye in their vs.Minion deck   :)
Lol, I forgot that Sauron cannot be played vs Minions. :oops:

This is an additional argument for phisically distinguished decks. LET'S GO FOR IT! ;)

BeeBoy
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: Seymour, IN

Post by BeeBoy » Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:12 pm

Really, I'd just like to see Sauron & The Lidless Eye playable against Balrog opponents.  It wouldn't make them much (any?) stronger, since TLE decks are usually built around that card, and if your opponent happens to be a normal Ringwraith instead of the Balrog you'll be greatly disadvantaged (probably about as much as not getting the avatar in a Balrog or FW mirror match).


There's probably already an UEP thread about this change...

User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Post by Fangorn » Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:49 pm

No you don't have to physically have 2 decks.
It's a very good news, because I can't afford to build physically 2 decks.
Having one deck is already difficult ...
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

Post Reply