Strength Bonuses ... how do they stack?

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Strength Bonuses ... how do they stack?

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:58 am

Hi all,

let's consider this situation:
i have Celeborn with an item giving me +2 strength to a maximum of 8. Also in my company (where Celeborn is) i have 2 fellowship cards. How do strength bonuses work in such way?

Does Celeborn has 8 or 10 strength?

mm75

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:17 am

Modifiers of prowess from weapons are applied first. Rest in order choosen by character's controlling player.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:34 am

Thanks, that what i remembered :-)

mm75

thorondor
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 8:17 pm
Location: Salzburg, Austria

Post by thorondor » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:51 pm

Konrad Klar wrote:Modifiers of prowess from weapons are applied first. Rest in order choosen by character's controlling player.
isnt it all items, not only weapons?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:05 pm

Exact quotes are:
Lidless Eye, Combat, The Strike Sequence wrote:Clarification: The prowess modifier and maximum for a weapon is applied to a character before any other modifiers are applied. For example, the Lieutenant of Dol Guldur has a base prowess of 7 and a Broad-headed Spear (+2 prowess to a maximum of 8) he starts with a prowess of 8 before any other modifiers are applied.

Similarly, the body modifier and maximum for a shield, armor, or helmet is applied before any other modifiers are applied.
CRF, Turn Sequence, Combat, Strike Sequence wrote:Non-item prowess bonuses are applied in the order the player controlling the character decides.
I must agree, phrase "Non-item prowess bonuses" is unclear.
It suggests, that all items (not only weapons) follow a different set of rules.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Leon
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:54 pm

Post by Leon » Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:36 am

I believe that weapons are the only items with a maximum to prowess, so that is the only one for which order of bonuses matters.

Wacho
Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by Wacho » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:38 pm

Not true.  There are a few other items that have a prowess limitation.  High Helm and The One Ring are two examples.  Also some weapons have body modifiers which are limited to a max value, for example Valiant Sword.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:25 pm

If so, then CRF entry is even more unclear.
It says generally about non-items (not only about non-weapons), and particulary about prowess (not mentioning body).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply