question about Spider of the Morlat

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

question about Spider of the Morlat

Post by Morgoth the Black » Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:20 am

If I have spider of the morlat in play as a permanent-event and during the m/h phase my opponent decides to marvels told it, may I use the ability of the spider of the morlat (take it back to my hand) rather than have it be discarded(That is of course if I have not used up the hazard limit yet)?

User avatar
Jaded
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Poland

Post by Jaded » Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:44 am

Yes, you can do it. If you declare it after MT ,your action will resolve first.

Ûvatha
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Colombia

Post by Ûvatha » Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:25 pm

Is it the same with Nazguls as permanent events ??, or by extention to every hazard that triger a specific efect when you choose to discard them ot to tap them(and then discard them) ??


Thanks in advance.

Ûvatha
Darth Troilo on G.A.B. White Mithril Team.

Wacho
Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by Wacho » Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:34 pm

Pretty much.  I think MT can catch the Witch-King though, since WK turns into a Long-event.

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 am

thanks!  That is what I figured :D

User avatar
Jaded
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Poland

Post by Jaded » Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:30 am

Wacho wrote:Pretty much.  I think MT can catch the Witch-King though, since WK turns into a Long-event.
I do not think so :
Witch-king of Angmar
· Although he becomes a long-event when tapped, he is discarded when the effect resolves just like other Nazgûl. The long-event effect will remain until the appropriate time.

User avatar
|Highwayman|
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 1:16 am
Location: Poland

Post by |Highwayman| » Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:42 am

meaning: in case of Witch-king, wait till he fully resolves and leaves this stench behind him (the long-event effect :P) and then Marvels Told it :)
Why the heck is signature text limited to only 150 characters now?

Manuel
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:28 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Post by Manuel » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:59 pm

It depends on what's done before.

*If player 1 plays Marvels Told to Witch-King, player 2 can tap WK in response.
*If player 2 taps WK, it turns inmediatly into a long event, so player 1 could play Marvels Told in response, targetting and cancelling such event.

Since WK is discarded when the effect is resolved (and not at declaration) MT could be played to cancel it. However, you cannot play MT on a WK which effect has already been resolved.

Hope it helps.

Ûvatha
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Colombia

Post by Ûvatha » Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:42 pm

Yes, that makes it clear !

Thanks !


Ûvatha
Darth Troilo on G.A.B. White Mithril Team.

Post Reply