Search found 89 matches

by asphalt
Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:00 am
Forum: General
Topic: GCCG troubles
Replies: 53
Views: 31371

new troubles

Hi. I'm re-opening this thread because new troubles emerged: today I tried to connect to GCCG but couldn't make it. :(  The window is completely black and doesn't even display any error message, but my internet connection works fine (this post comes to proof of it, I guess). Am I the only one h...
by asphalt
Thu Sep 07, 2006 10:00 am
Forum: Decks
Topic: [hazards vs. hero] Pair for a fast resource strategy
Replies: 9
Views: 9081

Having just 1 Pale Sword (you can't have more actually) and 1 Fell Beast, there won't be great chances to get them in your hand with a nazgul at the same time. Anyway, should I have the chance to play such a cool combo from my hand, I would be strongly disappointed to see it negated by a concealment...
by asphalt
Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Akhorahil vs. Well Preserved
Replies: 28
Views: 11887

IMO, Well-Preserved or any permanent-event magic card played by Akhorahil is not reshuffled in the deck, on the grounds of the permanent event's definition given in the METW/MELE rulesbook The effects of a resource permanent-event are immediately implemented. Its effects last until the card is disca...
by asphalt
Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:50 am
Forum: All About the Cards
Topic: METW / METD booster (-boxes)
Replies: 13
Views: 9965

If it was an unlimited edition box, then "unlimited edition" would be written between "booster packs" and the card back's reproduction on the box's top side. Since nothing's written there, I guess it's a limited edition box.
by asphalt
Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:46 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Veils of Shadow
Replies: 2
Views: 1587

CRF says
If an attack states all characters in a company face a strike [...] effects that change the attack's number of strikes have no effect. As an exception, effects which reduce the number of strikes to a specific number do work.
Then the answer to your question is "yes"  :)
by asphalt
Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:19 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Old River, New Trick
Replies: 3
Views: 4839

Well, that would be a swift move indeed, but a -3 modifier to prowess means an almost sure kill point for your opponent. You can actually make your opponent lose 1 turn, but he'll play his resources in the following turn if he stays at his site, as well as if you simply tapped his ranger. Moreover, ...
by asphalt
Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:59 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Changing Site Types?
Replies: 1
Views: 3474

News of the Shire :D

Well, actually I guess you need a card with a wider playability, in that case New Moon is supposed to fit your case.  :wink:
by asphalt
Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:17 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship!
Replies: 4
Views: 2448

In the latest post (march 2006) it is stated that the NetRep team "is about to issue a decision". Was this decision eventually taken?
by asphalt
Sat Jul 08, 2006 12:55 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Great Ship!
Replies: 4
Views: 2448

Well, the card text says until the end of the turn any character in the company may tap to cancel the effects of one hazard that targets the company. then, if the resource player was allowed to resort to great ship as many times as he can tap characters (i.e. with no limit), the text would say any c...
by asphalt
Sat Jul 08, 2006 8:41 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Refuge
Replies: 14
Views: 5986

Sly Southerner wrote:An elf hazard is not thematically under Sauron's control. It has an asterix and is one of the good guys.
Then, given this interpretation, which I find more agreaable, an Elf hazard creature could be discarded for the purpose of playing Refuge, but an Elf agent couldn't.
by asphalt
Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Minion Rings at Hero Bag-End
Replies: 39
Views: 16194

Sure: you answered your own question by yourself, when you previously quoted CaES's card text: Scout only. Playable during the site phase on an untapped scout. Tap the scout. Another character in his company may play any minor, major, or gold ring item normally playable at the site. This does not ta...
by asphalt
Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:29 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Refuge
Replies: 14
Views: 5986

When The Dragons set was released, elven haz creatures didn't exist. I think this is the only reason for they didn't feel the need to specify what kind of Elf you have to discard. As Dirhaval pointed out, discarding the elf represents the company being led into the refuge by a friendly elf. I can't ...
by asphalt
Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:41 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Timing of Discarding
Replies: 4
Views: 2352

I guess this means that resetting to hand size is the very last thing in a company's movement. Or maybe is it discarding the site of origin if tapped?
by asphalt
Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:40 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Minion Rings at Hero Bag-End
Replies: 39
Views: 16194

playing items at hero Bag End?

I think the point is another: no items are playable at the hero version of Bag End. End of the story.
Maybe Barliman's idea could work in a FW deck (using the minion version of B.E. of course), unless Wacho's objection is right. I'm not that handy w/ FW rules.
by asphalt
Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:23 pm
Forum: General
Topic: Beginner looking for advice
Replies: 4
Views: 4204

Welcome! As for the map, this one should meet all your needs. As you can see, it is like the one printed in the rulesbook's central page, but this one's got both regions' and sites' names and types. As for learning how to play, a good system is building decks only made of cards from "the Wizards" an...