Search found 1258 matches

by Bandobras Took
Sat Apr 09, 2005 9:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: How does detainment work?
Replies: 14
Views: 8624

Thematically killing minion agents by minions make little sense. But technically? If The Great Eye can help hero companies, why not? Eventually agents may by considered as killed by mistake (no kill marshaling points nor trophy anyway). Actually, after witnessing one orc killing another, Sam says s...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Apr 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Defending against Beorning Skin-changers
Replies: 7
Views: 5175

Out of curiosity, can Goldberry cancel that effect?

Oh, and thematically, the reason Beorn let them pass was because they had killed the Great Goblin. Sort of warriorish -- boast about the number of orcs you've personally slain, and they'll pat you on the back and send you on your way.
by Bandobras Took
Sat Apr 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Forum: Decks
Topic: [Minion Resource] Trolls, trolls, trolls.
Replies: 3
Views: 5567

[Minion Resource] Trolls, trolls, trolls.

This is meant to be more a fun deck than any sort of tournament winning thing. It was just idle curiosity on my part. Suggestions are welcome, but keep in mind that my set of cards is far from complete. Starting Characters: Lieutenant of Dol Guldur Lieutenant of Angmar Starting Minor Items: Goblin E...
by Bandobras Took
Sat Apr 09, 2005 3:14 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Thrall of the Voice
Replies: 3
Views: 3256

Because in cases where a card contradicts the rules, you follow the card. Looking at the WH rules, Bad Company is listed as an example of the kind of card that would allow orcs or trolls, not as the only card that could.
by Bandobras Took
Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:56 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Discussion on Fallen Wizards and the WH set
Replies: 31
Views: 18620

Even then, Fallen Wizard characters are only limited to five mind at the most. That makes influence attempts against characters at least slightly feasible (though the GI bonuses add a little more difficulty, I'll admit).
by Bandobras Took
Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:08 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Discussion on Fallen Wizards and the WH set
Replies: 31
Views: 18620

Are characters at Wizardhavens invulnerable to influence attempts? My first thought on looking at the Cheezagast deck was to take a bunch of trolls, influence away the Troll Chief, then go beat the tar out of whoever's moving while Radagast squats. If you can get rid of all the character MPs, yours ...
by Bandobras Took
Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:28 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: How does detainment work?
Replies: 14
Views: 8624

Also, remember that detainment attacks are never defeated -- therefore, a detainment man attack cannot discard Rank Upon Rank, even if every strike fails.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:26 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Strangeness w/ Ready to His Will
Replies: 6
Views: 4425

Strangeness w/ Ready to His Will

While putting together a minion deck this morning, I realized that Ready to His Will can be used against Lord of the Carrock -- in effect making Beorn a Minion Ally. Not precisely feasible, but any game where you can do that has got to be considered a moral victory, at least.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:14 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Orders from Lugburz Clarification
Replies: 2
Views: 2757

Okay, now I feel stupid . . . but thanks for the answer.
by Bandobras Took
Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:39 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Orders from Lugburz Clarification
Replies: 2
Views: 2757

Orders from Lugburz Clarification

Since this card can be played with a starting company in lieu of a minor item, does this mean your starting company can contain two leaders? (The card allows a company to contain one troll leader in addition to another leader).
by Bandobras Took
Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:07 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Phial of Galadriel
Replies: 20
Views: 11748

Er, so, does this mean that cards like Aiglos can be played at any time and doesn't tap character/site? Since it doesn't say it taps anything? In the interest of common sense, I would say that the essential keyword is "replace." To play Phial of Galadriel, you either: 1) included the Star-Glass wit...
by Bandobras Took
Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:10 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To get one of you away?
Replies: 3
Views: 2911

At a guess, I would say the kidnap effect does not resolve until the attack does. It would depend on whether the card says "play on a stike" or "play on an attack." But that's just a guess; I'm no rules expert.
by Bandobras Took
Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:09 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Different Nobody's Friend/Inner Cunning Question
Replies: 1
Views: 1840

Different Nobody's Friend/Inner Cunning Question

Is it valid to include these cards in a Ringwraith deck simply to get an agent in your hand to played as a character, or would using these cards (in their short-event form) violate the "all events that require an agent" restriction in the back of the LE rulebook?