Search found 560 matches

by Wacho
Fri Jan 18, 2008 3:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Rules concerning hoards and dragon automatic attacks
Replies: 9
Views: 5938

The first quote is the governing rule.  The second quote is a clarification telling you that the hoard will go away.  However, the first quote is an actual errata that modifies the original rule, correcting the situation. It helps to remember when reading the CRF the difference between err...
by Wacho
Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:12 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Question! Adunaphel in METW
Replies: 33
Views: 18646

Since you select the character to tap (or in Indur's case the character to lose an item) you've targetted a character.  Therefore the character has to be in the active company due to the rule that targets have to be in the active company.
by Wacho
Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:55 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Crown of Flowers
Replies: 8
Views: 6671

Crown of Flowers won't remove Doors of Night.  So you can have a hazard strategy that uses Doors of Night, but still play resource cards that need Gates by using Crown of Flowers.  And as a bonus if you are doing this your opponent can't cancel your resources by playing Doors of Night, bec...
by Wacho
Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:02 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Cracks of Doom in YOUR anti-dunk deck
Replies: 6
Views: 10963

Yes if you don't fail a cc check that means you succeed.  There was a big discussion about this, and it was in a recent digest.
by Wacho
Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:49 am
Forum: General
Topic: help...
Replies: 17
Views: 19742

I had this happen to me in the METW set.  I ended up putting a bunch of cheap commons behind the cards in this position to help protect the cards.  My binders that didn't have as many cards in them haven't really had this problem, or only slightly.
by Wacho
Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Withered Lands and cancelling environment short-events
Replies: 7
Views: 5185

Note, that since you can only play Withered Lands if Doors of Night is in play, playing Gates of Morning in response to the play of WL will effectively cancel it.  Gates will resolve first and take Doors out of play and WL will fizzle.
by Wacho
Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:33 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Sieged in Dunarrow?
Replies: 14
Views: 9888

By the text you aren't able to play Fair Travels if you use Wondrous Maps.  Wondrous Maps is not a site card even though it is used as a site card.  So you haven't fulfilled the active condition of playing a new site card in order to play Fair Travels. @ Marc:  I'll bring this thread ...
by Wacho
Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:53 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Solo Ruse/Sojourn illegal?
Replies: 1
Views: 2564

Hmmm...I don't think so.  Cards can change/overrule specific rules.  Ruse and such say that a strike may not be assigned to a specific character and there is no limit to how many characters can be in the company for those cards.
by Wacho
Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:49 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Sieged in Dunarrow?
Replies: 14
Views: 9888

I believe you have to play any "at the end of org phase" cards all at one time and then they all resolve along with any other end of org phase actions.  William gave a good explanation just a couple posts ago. So it boils down to you can't wait to play paths until after you know whether or not ...
by Wacho
Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:49 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Sieged in Dunarrow?
Replies: 14
Views: 9888

Correct.
by Wacho
Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:13 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Sieged in Dunarrow?
Replies: 14
Views: 9888

The way I figure it is that you may not take any actions after the "end of the org. phase" phase.  So when you get to that point you have the option of playing cards that are playable then.  Once you've done that all of the end of org. phase actions take place, and you move to the long-eve...
by Wacho
Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Sieged in Dunarrow?
Replies: 14
Views: 9888

well you'd have to play paths then roll for siege.  If you failed the roll you couldn't move.  However, paths would still have an effect in that your opponent could play any undead against your company.
by Wacho
Sun May 27, 2007 2:32 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Long dark reach
Replies: 3
Views: 3290

Not quite correct.  Earcaraxe, and in fact any dragon may only be played if Doors of Night is in play. COE 39 Subject:  [NetRep] Rulings Digest #39 Geez, you people are making me work for my money this week. Long Dark Reach Let's say you do not have Doors of Night in play and you play this...
by Wacho
Fri May 11, 2007 3:00 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Satisfy My Question
Replies: 30
Views: 18469

The CRF entry for Worthy Hills allows for active conditions that require the site to be tap to still be playable at the Worthy Hills.  Without this CRF entry you would not be able to play such cards.
by Wacho
Fri May 04, 2007 3:31 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Best Sets for a Beginner
Replies: 8
Views: 13336

With the White Hand you have the option to play as a Fallen-Wizard.  Their strategies are quite complex and since you can use both hero and minion resources you need to have a lot of cards.  Sideboarding is much more important for FW decks than other decks in general. If I were you I'd sta...