Search found 52 matches

by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:32 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: CotT: Webs of Fear and Treachery
Replies: 13
Views: 27862

It's funny that all the rules people are arguing over whether the character/faction's number is a "modification" if you reduce it by revealing a copy of it. It seemed clear to me by the way the BALROG Rules are worded that this number is the number you are trying to BEAT, and so it is not a modifica...
by Frodo
Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:38 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: CotT: Webs of Fear and Treachery
Replies: 13
Views: 27862

At Worlds in Barcelona 2009, Mark Alfano ruled (in a strange shift from literal NetRep rulings) that Webs of Fear and Treachery does NOT eliminate the defensive roll an opponent gets when you try to influence away his resource.

--Frodo
by Frodo
Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:58 am
Forum: Beginner Central
Topic: Newsletters are Great for Beginners
Replies: 0
Views: 7153

Newsletters are Great for Beginners

You can download the latest Council of Elrond newsletter here:

http://www.councilofelrond.org/forum/vi ... =7433#7433

Previous issues are also available in the same forum! Enjoy!

--Frodo
by Frodo
Sat May 24, 2008 5:20 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Changing region type...
Replies: 31
Views: 18030

Found a ruling! KEYING CREATURES TO PATHS COE 49 Let’s assume the site path contains only one Border-land and I'm using starter movement. if my opponent plays a creature requiring a Border-land and I make a Wilderness of it by playing Master of Wood, Water and Hill, what happens to the creature card...
by Frodo
Tue May 20, 2008 5:33 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Changing region type...
Replies: 31
Views: 18030

But Ben, that's not true at all--the hazard player must pick a type to key his creature too. He can't pick "all types".

Frodo
by Frodo
Mon May 19, 2008 11:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Changing region type...
Replies: 31
Views: 18030

Just to confirm--so the CaveDrake would successfully attack, right?

Frodo
by Frodo
Mon May 19, 2008 4:39 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Changing region type...
Replies: 31
Views: 18030

Another question: let's say I move through 3 wildernesses, and my opponent plays a cavedrake, keying it to two wildernesess. In response, I play Master of Wood water and hill, changing one wilderness he picked to something else. Does the creature fizzle? Or no, because the haz player does not actual...
by Frodo
Fri May 11, 2007 12:58 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Satisfy My Question
Replies: 30
Views: 18582

A new question:

If tapping the site is an active condition for events similar to TSTQ, why is a player allowed to play such events successfully at the minion Worthy Hills?

Frodo
by Frodo
Wed May 09, 2007 11:55 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Satisfy My Question
Replies: 30
Views: 18582

Thank you, Leon. My question was not so much trying to bend the rules as trying to take the rules literally--and then coming up with a example that would test whether the rules were sufficient. I agree with Leon, Miguel, et. al that if tapping the site was an active condition, the answer to my quest...
by Frodo
Wed May 09, 2007 4:13 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Satisfy My Question
Replies: 30
Views: 18582

I was sad to read that the card requires an untapped site, considering I had made a carefully-designed Virtual Format Deck which played multiple copies of these cards at tapped free-holds. Sigh... another useless card (useless because you may as well play an item at that freehold!) that we can do no...
by Frodo
Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:55 am
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Virtual Cards - Current Texts!
Replies: 1
Views: 8765

Virtual Cards - Current Texts!

VIRTUAL CARDS SET #1 (Version 0.7) A new version of the Virtual Card Set #1 was just finished, which includes several new cards and revisions to old cards based on playtesting suggestions. To download the newest V-set, visit the Virtual Card forums on the Council of Elrond website. Your comments are...
by Frodo
Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:42 pm
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Unleashed Cards [Virtual]
Replies: 65
Views: 43202

There's only one reason not to have it attach to Khamul.

If Khamul gets returned to hand somehow (on body check), the card would be discarded, and that would be the END of that strategy for any player who simply started with one copy of the card.

--Frodo
by Frodo
Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:38 am
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Unleashed Cards [Virtual]
Replies: 65
Views: 43202

It will be like Whispers of Rings, or Armory, etc. (cards without playability lines because they are playable anytime a resouce can be played). Also, this card is unlike other Unleasheds in that it does not get played on your RW (although none of its effects will help you unless Khamul is out as you...
by Frodo
Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:04 am
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Unleashed Cards [Virtual]
Replies: 65
Views: 43202

And so it is done. Khamul Unleashed Permanent Event If Khamul the Ringwraith is in play as your Ringwraith: Fell Rider does not discard or prohibit the play of followers under Khamul, and Fell Rider can never be discarded unless Khamul is removed from play. You may tap this card to play one allowed ...
by Frodo
Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:03 am
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Unleashed Cards [Virtual]
Replies: 65
Views: 43202

I think this newest iteration of Khamul Unleashed will prove a fair compromise for testing: Khamul Unleashed Permanent Event Fell Rider does not discard or prohibit the play of followers under Khamul the Ringwraith. Fell Rider can never be discarded unless Khamul is removed from play. You may tap th...