Search found 37 matches

by Librarian
Mon May 09, 2005 10:52 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Press Gang - Middle Earth's Annoying Journalists
Replies: 4
Views: 2724

You can discard your little one minder who's sitting scared at your haven next turn if you need to - that will mean you can play your wiz the next turn (better than not having him at all)

or if you are really desperate and playing a FW you can use the Minion Arkenstone on yourself :P
by Librarian
Sat May 07, 2005 5:35 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Press Gang - Middle Earth's Annoying Journalists
Replies: 4
Views: 2724

One more interesting trick is to quickly get your wizard back into your hand after his form is sacrificed. He drops in and says a few quick words with the press core before showing his face again as the White Wizard - very good publicity stunt. :P
by Librarian
Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:49 am
Forum: Decks
Topic: "Complete" Resource Strategy Taxonomy
Replies: 41
Views: 61060

I think it is - as the change is until the end of the turn.
When a region is changed it is still changed after the path it was changed in is over, so it should be the same with the site.
by Librarian
Sat Apr 30, 2005 12:21 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Strikes in CvCC
Replies: 14
Views: 5343

Black arrow can only be used by the defender (as it is vs an attack), but Poison can be used by anyone :) (due to the fact that all characters are facing strikes - attacker and defender alike)
by Librarian
Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:32 am
Forum: Decks
Topic: "Complete" Resource Strategy Taxonomy
Replies: 41
Views: 61060

|Highwayman| wrote:so how does it work?
I've plopped an agent at Mt Doom (usually My Precious) and then use Withdrawn to Mordor on him after changing the site to a R/L with Quiet Lands.
by Librarian
Thu Apr 28, 2005 3:16 am
Forum: Decks
Topic: "Complete" Resource Strategy Taxonomy
Replies: 41
Views: 61060

Re: (as promised) "Complete" Resource Strategy Tax

Zarathustra wrote:Please let me know what I forgot (I'm sure there's plenty...).
Here's some off the top of my head:
Hero:

MP:
Coastal Raiders
Dwarven Rings

Dunk:
Eagle Express

Minion:

MP:
Hero Item denial
Covert Spys

Dunk:
Undergrottos

Balrog:

Upstairs:
Influence Buster
by Librarian
Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:12 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Buthrakaur & Umagaur leading orc/troll hazards
Replies: 11
Views: 4574

Or at least The Witch King in play to cover your rear :P
by Librarian
Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:54 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Wondrous Maps and Girdle of Radagast
Replies: 6
Views: 3777

Even better: play Moon to turn Gorgoroth into a :s:. Move there with Wondrous Maps, haven/guard/girdle, and you'll turn Gorgoroth, Imlad Morgul, Udun, and Nurn all into :w:. Too bad Moon is only for the purposes of playing hazards :cry: Long-event Environment. If Gates of Morning is in play, treat ...
by Librarian
Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:45 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Press Gang - Middle Earth's Annoying Journalists
Replies: 4
Views: 2724

Press Gang - Middle Earth's Annoying Journalists

I just came up with an alternative use for the hazard Press Gang. Not only is it usefull in fullfilling the character in hand requirement for Black Rain (usually easier when playing against a minion player), but you can use it to help cut down on the cheezeness of the Balrog himself. With it in play...
by Librarian
Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:42 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Dragons
Replies: 4
Views: 2410

Zarathustra wrote:Small Company + Dragon Sickness.
:?:

I don't know what you mean, but I'm sure you aren't recomending having your guys be corrupted :P
by Librarian
Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:11 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: A couple questions, like tapping in support for corruption
Replies: 12
Views: 4657

Is this right? With MT I have always played the cc after canceling the hazard. If the cc goes first and the sage fails then wouldnt that fizzle the hazard event cancelling? Likewise for vanishment? The CC does come after the canceling (as it is written that way on the card), but to do that they hav...
by Librarian
Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:47 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Fealty Sworn
Replies: 15
Views: 7904

Any one else have any commets on this? I just couldn't resist, so here are a few other comments from those more versed in the rules than me :) Hour of Need · If successful, taps the character’s site, not the site of the faction being played. Ruled by Van in Ruling Digest 581 · Cannot be played if t...
by Librarian
Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:12 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can I play River on coastal sea site path?
Replies: 7
Views: 3614

Gwaihir wrote:More seriously: I think stopping flying special moves with River, as Konrad mentioned, is considerably more silly in terms of theme.
Hey those birds get thirsty - it takes a well qualified ranger to convince them to keep going :roll:
by Librarian
Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:11 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: To Fealty Sworn
Replies: 15
Views: 7904

That's what I find a little confusing... Is a faction considered played at the site the company is at no matter where the faction is normally played (i.e. via Hour of Need) or is it considered to be played at it's home site even if the company isn't there? To me the second option is the one that ma...
by Librarian
Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:08 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Face out of Sight
Replies: 3
Views: 2283

Since it's a long event it sets up a passive condition.
So the up shot of it is that as soon as you play an onguard card it is returned to your hand - ie. there is no point of playing them in the first place. :wink: